How do I manage sharing with documents on Google drive?
(1) Once a document is open within google drive, start by clicking on the blue "Share" button to open sharing options. Alternatively, you can go to File>Share...
(2) You should then see the "Share with others" menu.
Copy link (By clicking on this button, you will copy the link for the document to your clipboard making it read to paste elsewhere. The level of access to your linked document will depend on what permissions you set. The default is usually "Anyone at your organization with the link can view."
From here you can choose the following permissions:
- OFF - only specific people can access (Definition: This turns sharing with the entire organization off and you'd have to enter individual email addresses if you'd like to share the document).
- Anyone at your organization with the link can edit (Definition: All users at your organization have access to the document and can freely edit the document).
- Anyone at your organization with the link can comment (Definition: All users at your organization have access to the document. They are NOT able to edit the document but can make comments on sections).
- Anyone at your organization with the link can view (Definition: All users at your organization have access to the document. They are NOT able to edit nor comment on the document. However, they can view the document).
More...(This option will open up more sharing settings. Read further for more instructions).
(3) If you selected "More..." from the "Share with others" section, you will see additional "Sharing settings." From here you can access additional controls with permissions.
- "Who has access" gives you the full list of accounts with access to the document.
- "Invite people:" allows you to grant additional people access to the document.
You can manage access for individuals by hovering over their name:
- The stopwatch button allows you to set an expiration date on an individual's access to a document. Note: You will not see this button unless you hover your mouse over the person's name.
- Click on the pencil button to toggle between permissions for that individual: edit, comment, view. You can also set expiration for access here as well.
- Click on the "X" to remove access for a user altogether.
- When complete, click on the blue Done or Save changes button at the bottom of the window.
How do I comment on a section?
To comment on a section...
- Highlight the text that needs comments
- Right click and select comment
- If you add email addresses in the comments, you can even assign tasks
- Comments can then be replied to and marked resolved