Does Gmail automatically delete emails? What about archiving vs. trash?

“Will Google delete my messages automatically?”

SHORT ANSWER: It depends...

ARCHIVED MESSAGES & ALL MAIL: In Google Mail, when you select a message and click the Archive button, the message is removed from your inbox and moved to the “All Mail” label/folder, meaning it can still be found there or via search anytime (blue magnifying glass button).

TRASH & 30 DAYS AUTOMATIC DELETION: In Google Mail, when you select a message and click the Trash button, the message is removed from your inbox and moved to the “Trash” label/folder. Messages that have been in Trash more than 30 days will be automatically deleted forever.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk